Podcasts, Shelves, and Covers

a progress report

Do you ever feel like there isn't enough time for all the projects you've created for yourself? You're not alone.

Spring, with all its vibrant energy, has sept me into a whirlwind of activities. It feels fitting, doesn't it? Spring is all about new beginnings and growth, after all.

I'm bringing you more of a progress report this week than our regular newsletter because I've been working hard on an exciting project in a new office space.

In addition to writing this newsletter, I've been pursuing work as a freelance podcast producer. About a year ago, my spouse purchased a sizeable VHS collection that comprises roughly 3000 titles. We started a podcast called Mystery Simon Theater 3000 to document her journey watching the entire collection.

We needed a place to store the videos, so we rented an office space. We aimed to store the videos neatly and have enough space to record podcasts. Over the past several weeks, I've been building the shelves for the VHS. This past Wednesday, I finally finished installing all the shelves.

Our next step is applying acoustic foam to the walls. Once the acoustic foam is up, we'll begin building a desk, and the space will be complete. In addition to MSimonT3k, I'll be recording an analytical songwriter podcast (two episodes are up already) and another show about stop-motion animation and puppetry.

In late April, a friend asked if I would contribute a cover to a compilation commemorating the 5th anniversary of his album. The album is called Oranje, and I'll be coving a song called Compact Disc.

I'm excited to share a little bit more about the process of covering the song next week. Writing this newsletter doesn't leave much time for writing songs, but working on this cover will be a fun project that can shed some light on the songwriting process.

So that is a quick update. There are a lot of irons in the fire right now, and I'm looking forward to releasing the results soon. Click here if you're interested in checking out the Analytical Songwriter Podcast. If you're still reading these, thanks for stickin' with it! I appreciate your time and attention.

-- Johnny